Paleo Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake Recipe

Posted on Updated on

LOOOONG time no post. My bad, ladies and gentlemen. Jennifer and I celebrated our 5 year anniversary recently… ok maybe almost over four weeks ago, but the important part is that I baked her an anniversary cookie cake. A whole cake?! Yeah, but no worries. It was finished off mainly by me.

Back story behind the cake. Five years ago when I asked Jennifer to be my bae, I “baked” her a cake and drove 6.5 hours from Lubbock to Austin to give to her. And when I say I “baked” her a cake, I mean my good friends from college, Jenny and Carmen, baked the cake for me (gracias). It was a chocolate cake filled with ganache and icing that read “girlfriend?” Thankfully she said yes or else that would have been an awkward and long drive home. Cheesy way of asking a girl out right? Possibly.

But every year since then, I have had someone help me bake a cake every year because my baking skills suck. Also, shout out to Matt and my sister, Jennifer for years 2 and 4. Year 3 I had midterms to study for so no cake, but this anniversary shall continue the tradition from here on out.

Cakes

This year I decided to finally bake a cake on my own. This recipe is pretty easy and straight from a paleo dessert cookbook (purchase book here) I received as a birthday present this past year. Thanks again, Jenny.

The Paleo Chocolate Lovers Cookbook - a gift from our friend, Jenny.
The Paleo Chocolate Lovers Cookbook – a gift from our friend, Jenny.

For the cake ingredients, you need to gather:

  • 2 cups – almond flour
  • ¼ cup – arrowroot flour
  • ½ cup – coconut sugar
  • ¼ teaspoon – sea salt
  • ¼ teaspoon – baking soda
  • ½ cup – palm shortening
  • 1 teaspoon – vanilla extract
  • 3 ounces of dark chocolate, finely chopped or 2 and ½ ounce cacao nibs

For the frosting ingredients, you need to farm for:

  • ½ cup – palm shortening
  • ¼ cup – honey
  • 1 teaspoon – vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons – coconut flour, sifted
  • 2 tablespoons – almond flour
  • 1/8 teaspoon – sea salt
  • Liquid vanilla stevia to taste

Ready, set, cake!

  1. Preheat that oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. In a mixing bowl, whisk together the almond flour, arrowroot flour, coconut sugar, salt, and baking soda.
  3. Add palm shortening and vanilla extract. Beat with an electric mixer. Make sure you add enough of the wet ingredients so the cookie actually bakes.
  4. Fold in the chocolate (or cacao nibs)
  5. Line a 12” cast iron skillet with unbleached parchment paper on the bottom only.
  6. Spread cookie dough evenly in the skillet and pack it down.
  7. Bake for about 20 minutes or until the edges are beginning to brown slightly.
  8. Let the cookie and the skillet cool completely before frosting.

Frosting time!

  1. Mix together all the ingredients – palm shortening, honey, vanilla extract, coconut flour, almond flour, salt, and liquid vanilla stevia. Before adding the vanilla stevia, try testing out the frosting first. You can add as much stevia as you want to taste.
  2. Decorate the cookie cake however you want. I used a pastry bag I bought from Bed, Bath, and Beyond.
  3. So the cake I baked for year 2… I tried to write happy anniversary and it ended up saying happy birthday according to some people. So I decided to just write a 5 on the cake because it’s the thought that counts right? I also added 5 stars because 5. I ended up with tons of extra frosting, but that’s okay. Jennifer doesn’t like frosting too much, so I didn’t want to overload the cake for her sake.
Year 2 cake... Happy Anniversary! Or... happy birthday???
Year 2 cake… Happy Anniversary! Or… happy birthday???
My attempt at frosting year 5 cake lol
My attempt at frosting year 5 cake lol

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And that’s it! Happy Anniversary, Babe!

Paleo-friendly cookie cake for year 5!
Paleo-friendly cookie cake for year 5!

Until the next meal,

Joseph and Jennifer

Leave a Reply

