Cauliflower Mashed “Potatoes” Recipe

Posted on Updated on

Hi everyone!

It’s been somewhat of a crazy week what with school starting up again and me (Jennifer) being back in the classroom molding the future of our world! Juuuuusstttt kiiiidddinggg! …but not really. Haha. 🙂 Anyways, with my school schedule in full swing and Joseph’s intense work hours, blogging was put on small backburner for a few days and we apologize for that!

Today’s entry is going to be a simple-but-sweet recipe for one of the most staple and versatile ingredients in a paleo pantry. Cauliflower. In the paleo-centric world, cauliflower can be used as a great substitute for restricted food items such as bread, rice, and white potato. Just as a side note, and I’ve mentioned this briefly in a previous post, but white potato is now an acceptable Whole30 food to eat, but only in moderation. Now, I’m not going to sit here and lie to you – yes, cauliflower is used as a substitute, but for those of you who feel like bread/rice/potatoes are an extension of your being like I do… cauliflower will never TRULY replace the taste of bread/rice/potatoes… however, if cooked correctly, it is certainly enjoyable! And the nutritional benefits to cauliflower are through the roof!

I’ve encountered this recipe for cauliflower mashed “potatoes,” and have tweaked it to meet my tastebuds. The first time I made the cauliflower mashed poatotes, geeze, I don’t even want to remember it, it was barely palatable! I also made the mistake of using TWO heads of cauliflower because I was trying to make a healthy dinner for my parents, cousin, and Joseph. Suffice to say… I made too much of something that was simply not very good, and I had a lot of leftovers (but not the good kind of leftovers).

I’ve finally (kind of) perfected this recipe to where I can appreciate the taste, and Joseph can tell you, I’m somewhat on the pickier side when it comes to eating. This recipe is INCREDIBLY easy to make, I whipped it up on the whim a few nights ago!

Time to gather the ingredients!

  • 1 head of cauliflower
  • 5 cloves of garlic (you can use more cloves if you really enjoy the garlic-y flavor, or use less if you’re not a fan of garlic)
  • 2 tablespoons of grass-fed butter (we use Paleo Butter)
  • Kosher salt (for tasting)
  • Organic white pepper

You’ll want to take your head of cauliflower and then wash and trim the cauliflower head and cut up some small florets and stems. You will also want to take your cloves of garlic and peel the skin. You can keep the cloves whole since they will be mashed alongside the cauliflower anyways.

Take a pot and fill it with one to two inches of water, turn on your stove top to boil the water (medium-high). Place your steamer in there (link to the steamer that Joseph and I use can be found here) and then simply throw the cauliflower florets/stems along with the garlic into the steamer. Salt the cauliflower to your liking (you can always add more salt later).

Cauliflower, garlic cloves, and salt in steamer with the pot filled 1-2 inches with water!
Cauliflower, garlic cloves, and salt in steamer with the pot filled 1-2 inches with water!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Place the lid over the pot/steamer and steam and cauliflower florets have softened. This will probably be somewhere a little over ten minutes. Be sure to check on your pot to make sure the water hasn’t dried up. I found out the hard way through a corrosive burning smell that permeated the kitchen when my pot was boiling nothing. For those of you who do not own a steamer at home yet, I think you should be able to try cooking the cauliflower by bowling the cauliflower/garlic cloves for a long time until they are soft. I’ve never tried it before, so I’m really not sure, but I feel like it would be okay. If you try the boiling option, please let us know how it turns out!

Place the lid over the pot and let steam for about 10-15 minutes. Be sure to check water level so it doesn't dry out!
Place the lid over the pot and let steam for about 10-15 minutes. Be sure to check water level so it doesn’t dry out!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Once the florets are thoroughly cooked and soft, toss them (including the garlic cloves) into colander to drain. Throw everything into a food processor and add some more salt, pepper, and the two tablespoons of grass-fed butter.

Place all ingredients in food processor. Easy-peasy!
Place all ingredients in food processor. Easy-peasy!
The butter/brand we use. Paleo butter!
The butter/brand we use. Paleo butter!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Process everything until smooth! I’m sure you can do this by hand, but that would probably be time-consuming and tiring. I’ve tried whipping this up with a electric hand-mixer which wasn’t as bad as doing it by hand, but I find using the food processor the most convenient. Food processor that I bought for Joseph for our most recent Valentine’s Day celebrations can be found here (I know, we’re so romantic).

YUM, looks good, right? :)
YUM, looks good, right? 🙂

And voila! You have yourselves some cauliflower mashed “potatoes.” I really think the garlic cloves make ALL the difference. This still doesn’t replace real mashed potatoes for me, but I really enjoy making this from time to time because it’s a simple recipe that still tastes delicious! If you try this recipe and post it, please be sure to hashtag #jenjoandpaleo! If you make this dish and tweak it yourself, please let us know what you changed and how it worked out for you!

Until the next meal,

Joseph and Jennifer

Leave a Reply

