Review: Pete’s Paleo

Posted on Updated on

Joseph, here. Bet y’all thought only Jennifer was going to post entries, didn’t ya? Well I’m here with my first post and it’s going to be a review of Pete’s Paleo! Forewarning, I like using memes.

So, what in the world is Pete’s Paleo? Is it really a paleo meal delivery service based out of San Diego, California??? Yes, but no worries because they deliver anywhere in the United States! Your meals are fully customizable, with the number of meals ranging anywhere from 5 to 14 a week. There’s even a family plan. Did I mention there are also snacks included? Who doesn’t love snacks?

The freshly cooked meals are placed in an insulated BPA-free bag that is vacuum-sealed with two frozen gel packs and shipped in an insulated box with dry ice via UPS straight to you (no having to go to your local Post Office). As long as you order by Monday, you’ll have a package waiting at your door Friday. You can also upgrade shipping if needed. The meal bags are marked 1 through 14 or whatever the amount of meals you ordered is. Also included is a magnet (first order) and a menu with meal descriptions.

Shipped in an Insulated box with dry ice that keeps food cold and fresh while shipping to you.
Shipped in an Insulated box with dry ice that keeps food cold and fresh while shipping to you.
All packaged meals are placed inside an insulated box filled with dry ice.
All packaged meals are placed inside an insulated box filled with dry ice.
All meals are numerically numbered, so you know which and when to eat.
All meals are numerically numbered, so you know which and when to eat.
Freshly cooked meals placed in vacuum-sealed bags that are BPA-free.
Freshly cooked meals placed in vacuum-sealed bags that are BPA-free.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The food lasts up to a week in the fridge and two months in the freezer. All you have to do is take a bag with your fresh food and either heat it up in the microwave for 1-2 minutes or sauté in a pan for 5-6 minutes (I prefer this method using ghee).

So let’s get to the food. A typical meal consists of a protein (grass-fed and pasteurized meat) and two types of vegetables for sides (all organic and grown from local California farmers). I know I probably sound like a hippie after that last sentence. The protein is sbout 5-6 oz and the two sides are 2-3 oz each. If this isn’t enough food for you, there are additional costs for more protein or vegetables.

Example of a meal: one grass-fed and pasteurized protein and two local and organically-grown vegetables.
Example of a meal: one grass-fed and pasteurized protein and two local and organically-grown vegetables.

The food tastes fantastic! The meat selection includes: chicken, pork, turkey, duck, beef, lamb, elk, and bison. Yes, all of that. I don’t know about you, but when I go to the grocery store, all I ever buy is chicken, ground beef, and bacon (who doesn’t love bacon). And let’s be honest with some of those meats…

Price is High
The price of meat at local grocery stores

With Pete’s Paleo, I’ve been able to enjoy vegetables I typically can’t stand. I know I’m weird for this one, but I hate celery. (Insert Jennifer’s edit: HE’S SO WEIRD, WHO HATES CELERY? IT DOESN’T EVEN TASTE LIKE ANYTHING!!!) But the way it’s prepared by Chef Pete actually makes celery A-okay in my book. The chef takes vegetables you already love and makes them better (brussels sprout <3). With Pete’s Paleo, I’ve been exposed to vegetables I’ve never even eaten. BEETS??? The first time I witnessed this purple/pink-looking vegetable in my order, my initial thoughts were:

Grumpy Cat No
Purple/pink vegetables on my plate?

Can you guess my favorite vegetable from Pete’s Paleo now? Beets.

BEETS.
BEETS.

I’m not going to lie. It can be expensive and that’s mainly because of the shipping. If only I lived in San Diego where they do pick-ups (even through Amazon Fresh)… However, the more meals you order, the cheaper the price. Also, there is a slight discount if you order a recurring plan compared to if you order a one-week plan. Is it worth it? In my opinion, absolutely. Like many of you, I have a crazy work schedule and I just don’t have the time to grocery shop or cook during the week sometimes. Pete’s Paleo takes out all of the guessing and work for you. Pete’s Paleo is PERFECT for those of you who have busy schedules or those of you who are new to the idea of a paleo diet and don’t know where to start/can’t cook.

Side note on the value: I eat everything and anything (Jennifer’s edit: Really… he does -____-). Pete’s Paleo gives me portion control, which sometimes I desperately need. One bag of plantain chips with a serving size of four that’s meant to be eaten in a span of a couple of days if not a week? LOL. Done in one sitting. Before I discovered Pete’s Paleo, my go-to restaurants for healthy meals were Chipotle and Salata (yes, Chipotle can be paleo-friendly. Post about that to come soon). At Chipotle, I always got double meat because what man doesn’t get double meat. On top of that, I always got the guac. The cost of that Chipotle meal was equal to one meal from Pete’s Paleo.

I love this picture.
I love this picture.

Same deal with Salata. A salad that’s only $8? Seems too good to be true. It is. Let’s get real. You need some protein with that salad. $2 extra. “Do you want avocado with that?” Is that really a question? Give me the damn avocado. That will be an extra $1. The price of a relatively healthy meal eating out is the same as Pete’s Paleo, which makes it well worth it to me. You also don’t have to drive extra to get to a restaurant just to wait even longer in line.

For more details on everything, just head on over to their website: http://petespaleo.com/

Tl; dr? Just order it if you’re swamped for time or you’re new to paleo.

I hope you all enjoyed my first post!

Until the next meal,

Joseph and Jennifer

4 thoughts on “Review: Pete’s Paleo

    Andrew Advincula said:
    August 16, 2014 at 11:34 AM

    Just the right amount of humor, while staying true to yourself. You got yourself a subscriber! Keep it up!

    Like

    Sarah said:
    April 14, 2015 at 4:40 AM

    Nice review, especially trying to justify the cost. Just one tip, the animals are pastured, not pasteurized. 🙂

    Like

      jenjoandpaleo responded:
      April 21, 2015 at 7:48 AM

      LOL whoops! Thanks for noting that typo! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

